A Writing Vacation

For the last few weeks, I have begun experimenting with a weekly blog post that I am planning to make into a permanent fixture. Depending on what kind of inspiration strikes, I may end up posting more often than once per week, but I’ve decided that at the minimum, every Monday, I will post a new blog entry.
This summer I am trying out a new vacation concept for myself: a writing vacation. I travel to a place, visit with friends and family in the area, but more than anything, I try to focus on my craft. Regardless of the city, I write every weekday as if the vacation was part of my regular routine, but instead of moving on to other work once I am done writing for the day, I focus on enjoying myself. I’ve been lucky that during this time, the inspiration for my writing continues to appear, or rather flourish, without the confines and necessities of making time for a regular work day. I do contract financial work with a number of organizations, so while I do tend to manage my own time, I am still required to attend to it regularly. This writing vacation has released those obligations temporarily and I am enjoying my new freedom.

After spending the last week basking in the wonders of Paris, I arrived in London this morning, another one of my favorite European cities. For the first time in years, I visited my old haunts from when I studied here – wandering around campus, checking out the National Theatre and the Royal Opera House, and lazing on the grass in a park until it started to rain. It was a wonderful walk down memory lane, especially considering how far I have come since I started the first draft of my first book on an ordinary November morning in this city. Back then I set a writing goal for myself and I scrambled toward it with maximum efficiency so that I would be able to move on to reading or assignments for class. Now my day revolves around my writing and is structured as such. I still set myself a goal for how many words I want to write that day and work toward it, but I no longer engage in conscious word padding or meaningless monologues in my writing simply to reach the word count goal. On my “normal” schedule, writing is the first task that I work on in the day, and whether reaching that goal means anywhere from one to three hours staring at the page, I commit to it. Standing here in London reminds me of the time, iterations, and effort that it has taken me to figure out what the best writing process is for me. I am sure that it is something that I will continue to refine over the course of my life, because, as my husband says, “You’re going to be writing until the day you die, kiddo.” Sometimes I like to celebrate the small victories though as I look back at my own evolution. More than anything, when I walk around this city, I am able to pay homage to the inspiration that helped me to start along my path as a writer.

***

Learn more about me at my website www.pujaguha.com.
Sign up for my newsletter for a free ebook, contests and more!

My first novel AHRIMAN: THE SPIRIT OF DESTRUCTION is available as an ebook at all major retailers and a paperback at Amazon.com. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00L1ISEUS

One thought on “A Writing Vacation”

Leave a Reply

