The best thing about being a writer

One of the Goodreads author prompt questions is: “What’s the best thing about being a writer?”

I took it upon myself to answer it today. There are a lot of things I like about being a writer. I love creating new settings and characters. When I write, my imagination can go wild and I get to see what happens between all of the characters. Often what happens as I write is very different from what I expected. For each first draft, I don’t outline at all – I just start typing at my computer and see where the characters take me. Seeing where a story takes me is definitely one of my favorite things about being a writer.

When I was working on the first draft of Ahriman: The Spirit of Destruction, what surprised me the most was the role of the character Grant. He starts out as the boyfriend of the protagonist Petra Shirazi. I imagined him as a minor character but as the story developed he became increasingly important. Originally I’d named the character after a friend of mine but when my boyfriend (now husband) read the book – he reacted to the character name. “Why is her boyfriend named X?”

The comment took me by surprise so I ended up changing the name. None of the characters are modeled after people I know, although they do have bits and stories that I’ve adapted from real life into the story. Which brings me to what I consider the best thing about being a writer. Seeing your book in print. The concrete impact of your time in solid form.

That still gets me every time I pick up a print copy of my published book. I  only hope that I feel just as excited every time I publish a new one. I never want to lose that feeling of surreal excitement.

***

Learn more about me at my website www.pujaguha.com.
Sign up for my newsletter for a free ebook, contests and more! http://bitly.com/1sIlG3h

My first novel AHRIMAN: THE SPIRIT OF DESTRUCTION (Book I of The Ahriman Legacy) is available as an ebook at all major retailers and a paperback at Amazon.com. http://amzn.to/1rJjjb0.

Leave a Reply

